CLOSURE NOTICE: The Central Library (301 W. Claude St., Lake Charles) will be closed Nov. 4 -1 7 for new carpet installation. DETAILS!


Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

It's the 2018 Libraries Southwest Author Dinner.

Post Date:09/13/2018 9:14 AM

 2018 Annual Author Dinner Libraries Southwest Tuesday, October 16 at 5:00 p.m. LSW Libraries

You are invited to the Libraries Southwest Annual Author Dinner on Tuesday, October 16 at 5:00 p.m. at Treasures of Marilyn's located at 3510 5th Avenue in Lake Charles, Louisiana. 

  • Registration is required, and the deadline to register and send payment is Oct. 1, 2018.
  • The cost of the meal and program is $30.00.
  • 5:00 p.m.- Meet and Greet
  • 6:00 p.m.- dinner followed by the Author Program 
  • To register, please visit your local public library or print the appropriate form below. 


Guest Speaker

2018 LSW Author bio 

  • He has written for newspapers and magazines for 50 years and is the author of five books, Our Acadiana, a regional history of south Louisiana; 100 Years on the River, the story of a family of steamboat captains from Morgan City; Louisiana Purchase, A Pictorial Retrospective Celebrating Louisiana; Cajuns and Other Characters: True Stories from South Louisiana, a collection of his columns; and, with co-author Danielle Miller, Until You are Dead, Dead, Dead: The Hanging of Albert Edwin Batson, a true story about the murder of six members of a farming family in Calcasieu Parish in 1902.

  • For nearly 20 years, he was co-host with the late Bob Hamm of the popular Prime Time show each Saturday morning on KPEL Radio in Lafayette, which featured two-hour interviews with people of long memory from south Louisiana.

  • The Lake Charles native majored in English and journalism and minored in history at the University of Louisiana in Lafayette (then USL), where he was editor of the campus newspaper and received the Award of Achievement. He has pursued his twin loves of journalism and history since then, and become a recognized expert on the region and people of south Louisiana.

  • He has won journalism awards for spot news reporting, feature writing, editorial commentary and investigative reporting. His popular columns have brought national and regional awards, including the prestigious Hal Boyle Award. His history awards include the Prix de Louisiane, given by CODOFIL for his writing about the Louisiana French culture, and the Jefferson Davis Historical Medal, given by the Daughters of the Confederacy for his research and writing on the Civil War in Acadiana.

  • In 1998 he was named an Outstanding Alumnus by the Communications Department at UL. In 2001 he was made an honorary member of Phi Alpha Theta national history fraternity for “conspicuous achievement in the field of history.

  • Bradshaw lives in the historic town of Washington in St. Landry Parish, where he and his wife, Rose Marye are renovating a pre-Civil War residence.


The Lynda Carlberg Award

Lynda Carlberg

The Lynda Carlberg Award was established to honor special individuals for their contributions to libraries, and in memory of Lynda Carlberg, director of the Calcasieu Parish Public Library system from 1978 to 1997. She was active in state, regional, and national library activities and many local community activities. She was the heart of Libraries Southwest. 

Previous recipients of the Libraries Southwest Lynda Carlberg Award are:

  • Sallie Farrell, 1998
  • Minnie Lou Lynch, 1999
  • Tom Jaques, 2000
  • Joy Lowe, 2002
  • Ralph Boe, 2004
  • Joe Landrum, 2005
  • Gretchen Fairbanks, 2007
  • Sona Dombourian, 2009
  • Lyle Johnson, 2012
  • Michael E. Matthews, 2013
  • Sara Zimmerman, 2014
  • Amanda Taylor, 2015
  • Beth Vandersteen, 2016
  • Rebecca Hamilton, 2017

Libraries Southwest is a non-profit corporation of libraries, librarians, trustees, and individuals interested in the promotion and enhancement of libraries and library services in Southwest Louisiana. Membership forms are available in public libraries.

Libraries Southwest institutional members are: Allen, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron, Evangeline, Jefferson Davis, South St. Landry Community Library, Vermillion, and Vernon parish libraries, as well as Calcasieu Parish School Libraries, Frazar Memorial Library at McNeese State University, and SOWELA Technical Community College. 

Return to full list >>